Poetry International Poetry International

Nikos Fokas

Nikos  Fokas

Nikos Fokas

(Greece, 1927)
Nikos Fokas was born in Kefalonia, an island in the Ioanian sea, in 1927. He studied Greek Literature and History at Athens University. From 1962 to 1972 he worked for the Greek Service of the BBC in London, and on his return to Greece joined the National Broadcasting Corporation, where he worked as a free-lance journalist until his retirement in 1982.
One of the most gifted and inspiring poets of his generation, Fokas has also translated a number of important writers like Gustave Flaubert, Thomas Hardy, Robert Frost and others. His poetry has been translated into many languages and has succeeded in winning the admiration of the younger generation of Greek poets too. Fokas has written a number of important essays, collected in the volume Arguments on Language and Literature.
© Haris Vlavianós
Also on this site
{id="2433" title="Nikos Fokas, poet of the ‘marginal experience’"}
An essay by literary critic Alexis Ziras on Fokas’ oeuvre.


Twice the Dream (1957)
The only Witness (1961)
Projection on Blue (1972)
Condolences for a Bee (1976)
The Myth of the Vertical (1981)
Partouse (1981)
Search-Light in the Eyes (1985)
Grey Warm Color (1989)
A Point of Concentration (1993)
On the River Kolyma (1997)
The Measure of our Scream (2000)
Gemeente Rotterdam
Nederlands Letterenfonds
Stichting Van Beuningen Peterich-fonds
Prins Bernhard cultuurfonds
Lira fonds
LantarenVenster – Verhalenhuis Belvédère