Poetry International Poetry International
Foundation board & Governance

Board & Governance

Poetry International Foundation has the cultural ANBI status. Donations to the foundation are subject to an increased tax deduction.

ANBI data

Statutory name: Poetry International Foundation
RSIN: 007194171

Contact details and visiting address
Westersingel 16
3014 GN Rotterdam

ANBI form (in Dutch)


The foundation aims to increase interest in living literature in general and poetry in particular. It endeavors to achieve its objective, the spread of literature and of the poetic word, through intensive cooperation on an international level; by confronting all sections of the population with contemporary literature and the art of poetry; through cooperation with institutions in the field of education, education and the like.

Poetry International - Annual Financial Report 2022 (in Dutch)
Poetry International - Annual Financial Report 2021 (in Dutch)
Poetry International - Management Report 2020 (in Dutch)
Poetry International - Annual Report 2019 (in Dutch)


The board of the foundation consists of a minimum of five and a maximum of seven members. The board members receive no remuneration but are reimbursed per declaration for expenses incurred.

Mireille Pondman | chairman
Jort Bakker | treasurer
Elif Söylemez | secretary
Hian Li Ko
Gino van Weenen 

Functions and ancillary positions of board members

Mireille Pondman (Chair from 11 November 2020)
Position: Business director of governance at the Anne Frank House.
Took office May 1, 2019, second term ends May 1, 2027
Ancillary positions:
- Vice-chairman of the Supervisory Board of Stichting Bibliotheekservice Passend Lezen.

Jort Bakker (treasurer as of March 23, 2022)
Most Recent Position: Member Management Team and Business Head Corporate Sustainable Finance of ASN Bank, in The Hague (2016 - 2021)
Commenced on April 1, 2022, first term ends April 1, 2026
Ancillary positions:
- Treasurer and member of Executive Board: Dutch Green Building Council (since terminated).
- Treasurer and then chairman Supervisory Board: SME Advice

Elif Söylemez (secretary as of November 2021)
Position: Project Manager Ministry of Justice and Security, Immigration and Naturalization Service
Took office on March 1, 2021, first term ends March 1, 2025
Ancillary positions:
- Member of objection committee AFK
- Board member Third Space Foundation
- Chairman Advisory Committee Inclusion D66

Hian Li Ko
Position: lawyer at Ko & Co Lawyers
Took office on March 22, 2023, first term ends 22 March 2027
Additional positions:
- Professional coach at Ko Coaching
- Member of the Supervisory Board of Stichting Game Changers (organiser of the Rotterdam Street Culture Weekend)

Gino van Weenen
Position: Advisor Education at Theater Rotterdam
Commenced on March 1, 2021, first term ends March 1, 2025
Ancillary positions:
- Director of White Rabbit Creatives (Freelancer in the field of art education and spoken word).

Gemeente Rotterdam
Nederlands Letterenfonds
Stichting Van Beuningen Peterich-fonds
Prins Bernhard cultuurfonds
Lira fonds
J.E. Jurriaanse
Gefinancierd door de Europese Unie
Elise Mathilde Fonds
Stichting Verzameling van Wijngaarden-Boot
LantarenVenster – Verhalenhuis Belvédère